Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

INDY LXT Reviews

2020 550 INDY® LXT White Lightning is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for a basic 2-up sled Bought the Indy LXT 550 Northstar Edition to replace our old 1999 Ski Doo 500 SLE. We travel. 10 mi/17 km over ice and portages on Georgian Bay to get to cottage ..slush, deep powder, glare ice we get it all. This sled is amazing. Fantastic rider position, flies in the open and picks through the winding trails with grace. The 1.3 inch/144 Cobra track is like a Sherman tank going up hills even with two up and loaded with supplies. The fat Gripper skiis float and steer exceptionally well. I hope that Polaris can match the reliability of our old Rotax 500 but reviews of the 550 seem solid. If you have varying conditions like us spend the extra bucks and get the Northstar Edition..well worth it.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent ride quality, light weight I bought this last spring it was a great purchase ! Very happy as I bought it for ice fishing, back country riding in Ontario and taking my family out riding. The storage room is awesome for hauling gear to our camp. This winter I also tested it out in the deep snow and the 144 got through where other machines were buried. Many of my outdoor buddies were very impressed and are considering getting the same sled. For a 550cc it has an impressive amount of power. The handling is second to none.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awesome sled I baught it a year and half ago and love it!!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected!!! Bought this snowmobile to transport myself, family and friends between my mountain cabin and a parking lot area where vehicles are parked during the winter season. It serves that purpose and much more. We are have tons of fun riding on trails, towing sleds and riding it around the neighborhood.
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really enjoy my Indy I bought this and really enjoy. It handles great on and off trail.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from backfires, not smooth, reverse finicky I am not sure how these engines are supposed to run, but below 5000 rpm it constantly Below 5000 rpm, the engine constantly sounds like it is "engine braking when going down a hill", constantly popping and firing. This is tolerable around 3500rpm, and is really annoying around 4500rpm. It also backfires from time to time on startup, and idling rpm drops quite often drops below the point where the reverse gear can be activated. Apart from that, it works fine, but I would have preferred a smoother running engine.
Date published: 2020-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sled for the money This is the first sled that I have owned for a 550 the power is definatley all that I need. I purchased it for around the cottage but went on a few extended rides this winter and performed perfectly
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! I owned 10 polaris sleds at the start of the season newest being 05 love the ride and pep I can ride the 65 hp 550 faster than my 700 xc on the trails should of upgraded years ago
Date published: 2016-09-02
  • y_2020, m_6, d_2, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_S20CED5BSL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT