Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Switchback® XCR®

Race-Ready Strength & Durability

Starting at $14,499 CA MSRP
2020 600 Switchback® XCR® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 160.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sled Yet! I snow checked this sled in April and so glad I spring ordered it as I got to pick the Polaris color red on my 800 Switchback XCR. I love the Red the best and I also got it with electric start and the PIDD gauge which you would be crazy not to get. Polaris is the 1st to have GPS and bluetooth and LED headlights on a sled. Still no one else has GPS and bluetooth and you can say a waypoint say at the truck and trailer and find your way back and it puts a black line on the map everywhere you ride so you can see where you came from and always follow that black line back on the trail to get back. If you have bluetooth on say someone gets separated in your group it will come up on the screen if John texts or calls you! A lot of people don't like the back end look of the Polaris and coming from Arctic Cat all my life, all I can say is go ride one like I did and you will be hooked. Best suspension ever and best ride ever. So smooth and so glad I switched to Polaris, I like everything about the sled and the XCR is worth the $200 more over the Pro S any day and the electric start and PIDD deluxe gauge is worth it. I also had my dealer put on hand guards, mirrors, ultimate front and rear bumpers in red, windshield bag, and 2 other storage solutions and love them all. Only thing is you really have to run mirrors or hand guards not both because you can't really see the mirrors but i'm going to still leave them on, as you can see them a little.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great handling! I bought this sled 2 months ago and put on 500 miles so far and rides like a dream. Easy to operate, great appearance. Love the handing and ride experience. For a xcr could use a lil more top end, it has trouble keeping up after 60mph. I wish the sled had a little bit more storage and came standard with the pidd.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hot ride This is my second year owning this machine very responsive and handles like a dream had a few issues with the clutch but the dealer cleaned it and polish it and it seems to be working great now.
Date published: 2020-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Balanced Snowmobile The Axys chassis is exactly as advertised. The XCR takes this already fantastic chassis to another level. The Hi/Low speed clickers let you dial in for current conditions in just seconds. Coupled with the 800 engine, the fun factor is exhilarating! Quickest accelerating sled in its class!
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 800 Switchback XCR This is by far the quickest and best handling sled I have ever owned, or ridden. It is amazing!!! I was very impressed with the "snappy" thumb response during break in, then at about 450 miles it just woke up. I was actually laughing in my helmet....it is amazing!!! I LOVE IT.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trail domination I purchased my xcr switchback 600 at the beginning of February. It was just in time for a twelve inch snow around home. Our riding here is open fields and ditches. After the break in procedure was done, I ran 150 miles in bombed out ditches. Everything I could throw at it and it just smiled and asked for more. Fast forward a week and it was on to a few days of trail riding in northern Wisconsin. Razor sharp handling and took anything the trail could throw at it. Very impressed. My favorite sled so far
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elite Machine I purchased this sled in early December and have been extremely impressed by every feature this sled has to offer. It is an absolute monster on the trails and truly is a superior machine to the other sleds on the market. 100% satisfied with my purchase.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serious Power and Serious Traction What a animal. I road 850 Indy and my Switchback had considerable more traction. Really amazing how much traction it has. Pull is amazing. 850 is an animal. I had a pro-s Switchback before and the XCR Shocks are considerably better and upgraded brake system had better feel and stopping power. I ride flat out all the time and this is really the best sled for it. Only thing that would make it better is if people on Skidoo's knew how to stay on the right side of the trail so I could get by them.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ride and handling The ride and handling is the best I've been on. The engine has a nice mid-range that pulls all the way up.
Date published: 2020-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most amazing sled I've ever owned Snow Checked at Chopper City, Fridley MN. Best prices anywhere. Ride quality is amazing, way more power than the '17 Pro X 800 I traded in. Simply cant ride it enough. Only got 1900 miles on this season. Motor hasnt skipped a beat. Flawless.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride quality First new sled I have bought in over 20 years. Very glad I picked this one
Date published: 2020-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I Snow check it, waiting a long time for snow to ride. It’s very impressive old is a 99 SKS 700 not on the same playing field
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the tunability of the suspension. Love the ride of this sled. Such a comfortable machine to ride over long distances.
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sled I’ve ever had I’ve had this sled for 2 years and was able to get in a high number of km last year which were trouble free. One of the main features that I like is the seating position which is more upright when other sleds seem to be a slouched position. The sled is good in the corners and carves around the corner well. If you want to open it up there’s enough power for anybody. I bought a polaris rack for the back to carry fuel and oil which works well but I gotta be honest it takes away from the sporty aggressive look of the sled. Bottom line is I love the sled and when I buy a new one, it’s definitely going to be a polaris because I think polaris is taking over from brp. When I’m on the trails, people stop me and take a look at the 2018 sled of the year. I’m proud to be riding a polaris and this machine has turned my blood polaris. Keep up the good work boys! Braappp
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power Traded up from a 19 Switchback Pro X 800 that was amazing, to the 850 SWB XCR. There really is a difference, its incredible to ride. A real trail rocket. Last season I put 1900 miles on without a single issue. Couldn't be happier. A special thanks to Chopper City, fantastic people.
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not nearly as good as expected Wish it worked as good as it looks. Sadly disappointed. Should have put more miles on the machine before buying a large amount of accessories. Would have traded it on a skidoo by now if hadn't spent so much on accessories. At least they have a decent warranty.
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rides excellent this is my first polaris. and overall i am happy with the handling and the suspension is good. with the xcr package on the switchback the shocks are extremely stiff for most trail riders the Pro s switchback would likely suit 95 percent of trail riders
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sold machine 3/4 way through season! Disapointment I purchased new 2019 850 XCR, which was my 8th Polaris sled. This was one of the biggest disappointments I have ever purchased from Polaris. Myself as sell as several friends all had the chain case gears blow and strand me with 400 km on the machine. That and the endless other issues made be dump the sled 3/4 way through the season and never look back. This is very possible the last Polaris I own unfortunately as I have lost my confidence. It cost me thousands of dollars in losses selling the sled and absolutely no dealers wanted to buy the 2019 Polaris with an 850 engine. This included the dealer I bought it from, so I had to unload it privately. Now, to decided to make the switch to Skidoo, or take another expensive chance. Hard decision. I love the PRO chassis, and handling is best in the industry hands down. But the new 850 is a problem.
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! This is my favourite switchback! I've owned 5 since 2015 and this one is a masterpiece. The machine takes the bumps, goes where I want it to and the acceleration is incredible. I must say it takes me back to my 1995 xcr days. I feel I'm connected to the new sled and can't be happier! Two thumbs way up! By the way did I say awesome. Thankx again polaris for the grin inside my helmet every time I ride it!
Date published: 2020-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome sled The switchback was all i hoped for and more. Its stable and smooth through the trails making it idea to go touring with friends and family on weekends but still has the pick up to race on the lakes. I really lime the rear suspension! It seems like the bumps just are not there as it glided over the beat up D trail on family day weekend. Overall i love my new ride and look forward to every weekend i can take it out for a rip
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sled! I traded in my 2016 Pro S 800 for the 2018 600 XCR and rode the 2018 last season. Great power and response from the 600. I do miss the 800 power and pull but in the corner to corner trail riding I do the 600 was a very manageable and fast when I wanted it. The XCR rides a bit stiffer than the Pro S but I was expecting that and loosing the shock springs and hi/lo shocks have given me a better trail ride experience.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best all around sled I have evr owned. I bought this sled in March 2018 and have rode it over 5200 miles. This sled is non stop riding and fun without being fatigued after a 250 mile plus trail riding day. I have off trailed with other mountain sleds and kept up with the best of them. I had minor problems Power valve cable at 3600 miles but other than that it has been the perfect sled for me to ride.
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it LOVE MY SLED . HANDLING IS AMAZING . THE 800 MOTOR WAS A BIT UNDERPOWERED .I WOULD DEFINATLY RECOMMEND THIS SLED
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than a Skidoo 2018 600R After about 1000 miles, couldn't be happier with my purchase. Sled ran perfect all season with no headaches of any kind. Engine was strong and especially on the colder days has more than enough pull for trail riders of all abilities. My friend purchased a 2018 skidoo 600R for this season and after riding both, a fellow rider bought a 600 Switchback XCR and like me, couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great acceleration. Lacks Top end performance Goes great from 0 to 90mph, but for an 850, it struggles to get over 100mph
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Should've stuck with ski-doo I bought the 2018 Polaris XCR Switchback 800 thinking it'd be a great sled. I've had more problems with it than the 5 years I've owned a 2012 Renegade 600 E-Tec. I've never had any problems with that ski-doo, but with this Polaris, I've had many issues from it not being able to start, fouling out approximately 6-8 spark plugs. I'm considering selling it and returning to ski-doo.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handles great I bought this 850 at bonter Polaris in Marmora Ontario It’s a strong motor but not as fast as your 800 I have been beat easily buy an 16 stck switchback pro s and a 19 switchback assault 800 Your clutching is too light .. friends call it the XCR 750 Other than that it’s a reliable fun sled with second to none handling I suggest you do something about the clutching
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast The best i ever owned all around handling acceleration
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First Ride review After my first ride yesterday I was very pleased with the handling and power of my XCR 850. I gave it a good rating due to the fact that I have only ridden it the one time and have not tried it in all conditions and it is still in break in mode. I believe that my overall rating could very well go up to Excellent in the future.
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous sled I have ridden the PRO series chassis since 2012 and wouldn't change a thing, absolutely love the ride and handling, had the opportunity to ride the XC this winter and it is also great but just not as comfortable or nibble in my opinion, will always be on the PRO. The new 850 is spot on, all kinds of pull threw the whole power band and smooth as silk, love my Polaris
Date published: 2019-04-20
  • y_2020, m_1, d_21, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_S20DDL6PS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 18ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Build Build Get a Local Price Get Local Price

*May be shown with additional modifications or accessories. Does not include freight or set-up fees.

Menu
Turn the Tightest Corners Into Your Victory Lap

Designed for extreme performance riders that need to dominate tough terrain at high speeds. The lightweight yet strong AXYS® chassis paired with the race-ready components of the Switchback® XCR® deliver extreme performance.

Power for Any Terrain

The engine is the heart of your ride, and we have the best two-stroke lineup available. Led by our SnowCheck Exclusive 850 Patriot™ engine with industry leading power to weight ratio, coming in second is never a worry.

Learn More about Snowmobile Engines Learn More
850 Patriot Engine
Learn more about 850 Patriot 850 Patriot™
800 Cleanfire
Learn more about 800 Cleanfire® H.O. 800 Cleanfire®  H.O.
600 Cleanfire Engine
Learn more about 600 Cleanfire® 600 Cleanfire®
Rider Balanced® Control

By placing the rider in the right location on the sled, we've built a sled that corners flat without sacrificing the fun factor of lifting the front end through the bumps or powder. More precise handling both on- and off-trail.  

Unrivaled Acceleration

When developing the AXYS® platform, our engineers minimized weight throughout the sled without compromising strength. Combined with powerful engines and class-leading power-to-weight ratios, the Switchback® XCR® gives you the best go-anywhere versatility.

Rider-Centric Comfort

With ergonomic controls, integrated storage, enhanced wind protection, and industry-first LED headlights and gauge packages, comfort is woven directly into the AXYS® platform's design.