Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Switchback Assault

Unrivaled On and Off Trail Performance

Starting at $17,999 CA MSRP
2021 600 Switchback Assault 144 is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 800.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Assault. It does everything!!! Best sled I have ever owned! The Assault makes no compromises.
Date published: 2022-07-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Months of anticipation followed by disappointment After waiting nearly a year for my sled to come in, I finally received it the second week of March. The dealer loaded it on my trailer with a forklift, when I got home it wouldn’t even start. I had to race back to the dealer because they were closing. It wound up being a bad fuel pump. They couldn’t get one so they took one off of the sled I traded in. After all that I did put 400 miles on it. I do really like the way it rides, although I have very little faith in the durability.
Date published: 2022-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely incredible I have riden snowmobiles all my life, and read all the articles from magazines over the years. They always write as if the "new" models are insanely better than the last years model. Well going from the awesome 2018 axys swba to the 2021 matryx assault, let me tell u first hand...... It is absolutely ridiculously way better than I ever expected. It is better in everyway.... It's even warmer! 7s gauge is super clean, easy to see at night and during full sun. The new 2" track was great on trail and off trail. The new headlight is fantastic. It works incredibly well on trail and off trail.... Best 50/50 sled money can buy.... Polaris has top notch products and are currently making THE best trail sled with the vr1, THE best mountain machine with the pro rmk, and combine those and u have THE best of both worlds with the matryx assault! I would buy again in a heartbeat and most likely will!
Date published: 2021-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing sled Like I Said before amazing snowmobile with one flaw the starter grinds when I try to start it. It some times takes 2 or 3 cranks. The handling and everything else is incredible and can not be compared.
Date published: 2021-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Assault ! This snowmobile never fails to impress me with its performance and capability to maneuver its way though deep snow and rugged terrain. Polaris Assault 800 I’ve found you.
Date published: 2021-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good sled Few things could be better. GPS antenna didn’t stay stuck on top of pod. Windshield mounting system with those little lock rings is cheap and not real easy to do. Should have push button start by now. Tether should be standard equipment. Little things I know. Good sled oversll
Date published: 2021-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great all round sled although we had a winter with less snow than usual i think this sled is all i thought it would be.
Date published: 2021-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Need more power Great handling feels lighter and more nimble but lacks arm stretching power
Date published: 2021-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and versatile machine Deep snow or machine groomed trails this machine crushes it all. Best machine I have ever owned.
Date published: 2021-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I had a terrible dealer experience and Polaris did nothing to rectify the situation. As far as the sled goes, not only did the sled arrive without shocks, it was also missing chain case fluid (found that out after 500 miles!). I am a long time Polaris sled owner and this will be my last, based on my disappointing dealership experience and quality control issues.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly what most need Been a really good fit so far, light and nimble, the 146” is perfect for some off trail playing, and power was a surprise coming close to 800 class sleds.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sled could be great. This is an absolutely fun sled overall good in all phases of riding. Really my only complaint is the rear suspension bucks me around in the bigger whoops. And the windshield selections are meh.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A sled that works on and off the trail I picked up a 600sba with the 1.35 track for my wife as she primarily rides trails. I was surprised that it does quite well off the trail as well. (At least in flat swamps. She never took it to the mountains) The 600 has plenty of power, and the engine has been trouble free. My only knock would be that the ski stance is not adjustable. My wife put 1100 miles on it last winter. I prefer a narrower ski stance so I ordered a 600rmk for 21/22 season and it has already arrived. Since I prefer
Date published: 2021-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good but like my 2020 Assault 144 better. The 650 engine with such a long stroke but smaller pistons than the 850 did seem to have a lot more vibration. As an all day rider I did not like the lack of storage space as compared to my 2020 Assault. The only place my thermos would fit is under the seat which was not very friendly to access. To get at my coffee I would have to remove the seat. Then to enjoy my coffee I would have to put the seat back on. Then when through having my wonderful trail side break I would have to remove the seat again to put my thermos away. I t did become very annoying quickly. My stock 2020 Assault had lots of room in the underseat rear bag to carry my spare belt, tow rope, 3 bottles of water anf ofcourse my coffee thermos. It may sound petty but in the real world and spending long days on the trail these things do matter. Consequently I soon dealt it back in on an old style 21 AXYS 144 Assault which works extremely well. In addition to that I was very disappointed to find out that I could not snowcheck a 22 AXYS 144 Assault. I did order another 22 Matryx Assault 850 and have purchased an adventure bag and will hopefully make it work for my many all day long rides
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wife loves her new sled Most reliable and Best ride and handling sled there is
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My late sled Totally disappointed in the way polaris handled the late delivery of the sleds
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around snowmobile for riding anywhere. This is a great crossover snowmobile from trails to mountain powder. Been very pleased with this purchase!!!
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine, leaves some to be desired. The good- Ride is great. Very durable. Great fit and finsh- looks great. Good fuel economy. Good power. Endless customization options. The "no so" good- 1. uses an absurd amount of oil. More than any sled I have ever owned. More oil than any of my friend's sleds regardless of brand. Dealerships tell me its "normal". 2. The handwarmers are AWFUL- with the warmers on HI with heated gloves my hands are still cold. This opinion is shared with my 3 friends with the same sled. we all have Polaris handguards and they don't help much. 3. Bottom end and midrange power lacks and can't keep up with other stock 800's with the same track length/height- top end gets it done though. Overall I love my sled, and will address most of my concerns through aftermarket modifications. Just wish these concerns didn't have to be "fixed" after spending considerable money for a new snowmobile.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sled! 2020 Polaris Switchback Assault 600 !!! I love the way it handles on the trail.and off trail in the powder! Best sled I've ever owned.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sled I was only able to get 248 miles on it this past year but you better believe there was a smile on my face for every bit of it
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sled I had in years Most realistic, reliable, awesome sled I ever own it’s my 5 th so I am very pleased to own this assaults
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2021 850 Switchback Assault 146 Great sled, loved the ride and handling. I'm concerned about reported failures of the jack-shaft bearing??
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great sled except for the track falling apart It’s been a fun and exciting adventure taking the machine out and having fun on it.
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Latest and greatest 2020 assault 850 It was a really short season last year but 500 miles great handling and amazing throttle response. Definitely can’t wait for next season
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great overall sled Great reliable sled. Can't go wrong this this sled
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Machine This machine replaced a 2017 SBA, that machine was my favorite to date (my 10th new machine since 2003 (Cat, Yamaha and Ski-Doo) this was my first Polaris. The 2021 took over as my new favorite, the motor is strong and smooth, tech like the warmers and gauge are just bonuses for the ride.
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good good as i said good good .................................
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from La perfection!! Cette motoneige est parfaite, une petite bête de sentier agressive mais elle me permet en plus, d'aller jouer hors piste. Juste amazing!
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Adventure Sled I use this sled for going on longer day adventure trips, and some overnight trips. It is the perfect combination of trail and off trail capability. The fuel mileage/range is outstanding.
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed my sled I have ridden my assault for 2 seasons hard and the only mechanical problem was a belt at the end of the second season
Date published: 2021-07-12
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_800
  • loc_en_US, sid_S21EEC6PS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reviews

Switchback Assault

Pure dominance on-trail and off

Hypersled Power and Performance

The all-new Patriot Boost Switchback Assault is the first no-compromise crossover hypersled. The available Patriot Boost engine delivers 10% more power than the 850 Patriot, and is up to 110 pounds lighter than competitive sleds. The new level of response and fun factor of the Switchback Assault on and off the trail is unrivaled.

Effortless Control in Any Condition

The snocross-inspired cockpit has been proven on the track to reduce effort and improve rider connection to the sled. Ultra-premium WER® Velocity shocks, race- inspired IFS and IGX 146 rear suspension combine to create the best handling crossover sled ever.

The Most Advanced Technology on Snow

Technology is built around the rider, including the Ride Command 7S Display featuring vehicle to vehicle tracking with or without cellular. SmartWarmers, thermostat controlled hand warmers, and intuitive left hand controls.

Power for Any Terrain

The Polaris family of engines delivers a wide range of options across each sled family so that you can feel confident control wherever and whenever you ride.

850 Patriot

The 850 Patriot, designed for class-leading durability, responsiveness, unrivaled acceleration and industry's best power-to-weight. The most powerful snowmobile engine ever built by Polaris, made with pride in the USA.

650 Patriot

The all-new 650 Patriot built on the proven 850 architecture delivers unparalleled durability, refined run quality and a new level of fuel economy. Throttle response is instant, power is pure and acceleration is smooth from first pull to open throttle.

Patriot Boost

The Turbocharged Heart of the Factory Mod. From the very first sketch, the Patriot 850 was designed for the Patriot Boost turbocharger system. Class-leading durability is a hallmark of the Patriot 850, with the Patriot Boost taking it to the next level.

Accessories and Apparel

Accessories for the Trails

TECH54 Riding Gear